Historic Site #21
The Kennedy Stone House rises like an ancient ruin from a small clearing in the forest of Salt Fork State Park. In 1837, Benjamin Kennedy purchased an 80-acre tract of land and shortly after that commissioned the large two-story house's construction. The house was constructed with native sandstone blocks, ranging from 14 inches to over 9 feet long. Wood for doors, window frames, and flooring was most likely harvested from the nearby hillside.
The Kennedy Stone House at Salt Fork State Park offers visitors a look back when the Benjamin Kennedy family called the stone structure home. When the house was originally built, it overlooked Sugar Tree Fork and likely provided majestic views of fields and pastures dotted by sheep. Today, the house is nestled in the woods, overlooking the man-made Salt Fork Lake.
In 1999, a group of volunteers raised funds and oversaw the restoration of the house. After the house was restored to its 1840s appearance, it was officially dedicated a museum. See more about Friends of Kennedy Stone House
Hours of Operation
Stone House Museum is open to the public May through October, on Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays from 1 to 5 p.m. Volunteers dressed in period costumes offer tours of the house; admission is free and donations are welcome.
How to Get There
By Foot: The Stone House Trail Parking Area is on Park Road 1, 1.3 miles north of the turnoff to the Lodge. Continue walking west along the Stone House Trail to the museum.
By Car: From the main park entrance on US-22, travel north on Park Road 1 to Park Road 4, and turn left. Turn right at the Stone House Museum sign located on Park Road 4.
By Boat: Docking facilities are available just east of the museum.