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v’;:;fsc.?é’ CAPTIVE WHITE-TAILED DEER PROPAGATION

The laws governing this license may change periodically. License holders are required to maintain a knowledge and
understanding of all laws pertaining to this license and to comply with all requirements contained in the laws. The most up
to date version of the law can be found at codes.ohio.gov/.

“Captive white-tailed deer” means legally acquired deer that are held in private ownership at a facility licensed under sec-
tion 943.03 or 943.031 of the Revised Code and under section 1533.71 or 1533.721 of the Revised Code.

Steps to obtain the proper licenses (New applicants):
1. License application - Contact the Ohio Division of Wildlife and inform them of your interest in propagating cap-
tive white-tailed deer and obtain a license application.

2. License application - Contact the Ohio Department of Agriculture and inform them of your interest in propagat-
ing captive white-tailed deer and obtain a license application.

3. Enclosure construction - Construct an enclosure that meets current standards for height and fence material. The
fence must be strong enough to prevent the escape of captive white-tailed deer or the entry of wild white-tailed
deer. Do not release any deer into the enclosure at this time

4. Submit application — Following the enclosure construction, submit your application and payment to the Ohio
Division of Wildlife.

5. Enclosure inspection - The Ohio Division of Wildlife will contact you and schedule an inspection of your enclo-
sure. The enclosure must be inspected and approved before any deer may be released into the enclosure.

6. License approval - Approved Captive White-tailed Deer Propagation License received, make arrangements to
complete step 7.

7. Initial stocking of captive white-tailed deer - Contact the Ohio Division of Wildlife and provide proof that the
captive white-tailed deer that you intend to release were legally acquired. No captive white-tailed deer may be
released into the enclosure on the initial stocking until they have been approved for release by the Ohio Division
of Wildlife.

All persons who possess one or more white-tailed deer shall:
e Obtain a “Captive White-tailed Deer Propagation License” at a one-time cost of $40.00 from the Division of Wildlife.
O There is no annual renewal fee for this license;

O The license expires when you no longer have any deer in captivity;
O The license allows you to hold legally acquired deer in captivity and sell the deer and carcasses;

O This license is not required of persons who possess a Wild Animal Hunting Preserve license (see require-
ments below)

e Maintain all captive white-tailed deer in an enclosure that is eight feet in height constructed using woven wire mesh
fencing. The enclosure must be strong enough to prevent the escape of captive white-deer or the entry of wild
white-tailed deer;

e Report to the Division of Wildlife any escaped deer within 24 hours of discovery and immediately make repairs to
the enclosure to prevent additional escapes;

e Dispose of dead white-tailed deer in a manner approved by the Ohio Department of Agriculture;

Wild Animal Hunting Preserves Licensees shall:
e Obtain a Wild Animal Hunting Preserve License from the Division of Wildlife at an initial cost of $1,000.

o Wild Animal Hunting Preserves that possess captive white-tailed deer only will pay the $1000 application
and license fee one time

 This license does not expire unless revoked by the chief of the Division of Wildlife

o Wild Animal Hunting Preserves that possess other game and nonnative wildlife will pay the $1000 applica-
tion and license fee the first year and will pay a $200 annual license renewal fee every year thereafter

* This license expires on April 30th
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e Be exempt from all licenses required under ORC 1533.71 (Wild animal propagation licenses)

e Tag all animals in the accordance with ORC 1533.731 (C) except captive white-tailed deer ;

e Maintain the enclosure with a fence eight feet in height constructed using woven wire mesh fencing that will prevent

the escape of captive animals into the wild;

e Report to the Division of Wildlife any escaped animal within 24 hours of discovery and immediately make repairs to

the enclosure to prevent additional escapes;

e Maintain accurate daily records and retain them for two years;

e Clearly mark the boundaries of the wild animal hunting preserve with appropriate signage; and

e Not move any live game, captive white-tailed deer or nonnative wildlife from the hunting preserve unless authorized

by the Ohio Department of Agriculture.

LAW REFERENCES:

1533.71 License to raise or keep game birds and
animals.

(A) Unless otherwise provided in this section or by divi-
sion rule, any person desiring to engage in the business
of raising and selling game birds, game quadrupeds,
reptiles, amphibians, or fur-bearing animals in a wholly
enclosed preserve of which the person is the owner or
lessee, or to have game birds, game quadrupeds, rep-
tiles, amphibians, or fur-bearing animals in captivity,
shall submit an application to the division of wildlife for a
license to do so. This section does not apply to a person
who possesses wild animals under the authority of a li-
cense for a wild animal hunting preserve or a commercial
bird shooting preserve.

The division, when it appears that the application is made
in good faith and the applicant is in compliance with divi-
sion (B) of this section, if applicable, and upon the pay-
ment of the fee for each license, may issue to the appli-
cant any of the following licenses that may be applied for:
(1) “Commercial propagating license” permitting the
licensee to propagate game birds, game quadrupeds
except captive white-tailed deer, reptiles, amphibians, or
fur-bearing animals in the wholly enclosed preserve the
location of which is stated in the license and the applica-
tion therefor, and to sell the propagated game birds, game
quadrupeds except captive white-tailed deer, reptiles,
amphibians, or fur-bearing animals and ship them from
the state alive at any time, and permitting the licensee
and the licensee’s employees to kill the propagated game
birds, game quadrupeds except captive white-tailed deer,
or fur-bearing animals and sell the carcasses for food
subject to sections 1533.71 to 1533.79 of the Revised
Code. The fee for such a license is forty dollars per an-
num.

(2) “Noncommercial propagating license” permitting the
licensee to propagate game birds, game quadrupeds
except captive white-tailed deer, reptiles, amphibians, or
fur-bearing animals and to hold the animals in captivity.
Game birds, game quadrupeds except captive white-
tailed deer, reptiles, amphibians, and fur-bearing animals
propagated or held in captivity by authority of a noncom-
mercial propagating license are for the licensee’s own use
and shall not be sold. The fee for such a license is twenty-
five dollars per annum.

(3) “Captive white-tailed deer propagation license” permit-
ting the licensee to propagate captive white-tailed deer,
hold the animals in captivity, and sell the animals and
carcasses. The fee for such a license is forty dollars. The
license is valid until a licensee ceases to hold captive
white-tailed deer or the license is revoked, whichever oc-
curs earlier.

(B)(1) A person who wishes to obtain a captive white-
tailed deer propagation license, prior to applying for the
license, shall construct an authorized enclosure that is
surrounded by a fence that is eight feet in height with

a minimal deviation not to exceed four per cent, is con-
structed in a manner that prevents ingress and egress of
deer, and is constructed of materials that are approved by
the chief of the division of wildlife in consultation with the
animal and plant health inspection service in the United
States department of agriculture, the department of agri-
culture, and representatives of the cervid industry in this
state.

(2) After constructing an authorized enclosure in ac-
cordance with division (B)(1) of this section and division
rules, the person may submit an application for a captive
white-tailed deer propagation license.

(3) Not later than thirty days after the submission of

the application, a representative from the division shall
inspect the authorized enclosure to ensure compliance
with division (B)(1) of this section and division rules. If the
applicant’s authorized enclosure is not in compliance with
all of the applicable requirements, the representative shall
inform the applicant in writing of the deficiencies not later
than ten business days after the inspection. If the appli-
cant corrects the deficiencies, the applicant shall request
a reinspection. The reinspection shall be conducted in ac-
cordance with this division not later than thirty days after
the request for reinspection.

If the applicant’s authorized enclosure complies with all

of the applicable requirements, the chief shall review the
application and shall issue or deny the license. If the chief
denies the license, the chief shall return the application

to the applicant with an explanation of the reasons for
denial. The applicant may correct the deficiencies in the
application and submit a revised application. If the ap-
plicant corrects the deficiencies, the chief shall issue the
license as provided in this section.
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(4) Upon receipt of a captive white-tailed deer propaga-
tion license, receipt of a license under section 943.03 or
943.031 of the Revised Code, and a demonstration to the
chief or the chief’s designee that each captive white-tailed
deer held by the licensee was legally acquired, the licens-
ee may place all of the licensee’s deer in the authorized
enclosure. The licensee thereafter shall comply with this
chapter and Chapter 1531. of the Revised Code, division
rules, sections 943.20 to 943.26 of the Revised Code,
and rules adopted under section 943.24 of the Revised
Code.

(C) The division may inspect a facility to which a captive
white-tailed deer propagation license has been issued
only at reasonable times and when the inspection is in
connection with a criminal investigation.

(D) The chief, with the approval of the director of agri-
culture, may suspend or revoke a captive white-tailed
deer propagation license issued to a person who also
has been issued a valid license under section 943.03

or 943.031 of the Revised Code for the same facility if
the person fails to comply with this chapter and Chap-

ter 1531. of the Revised Code, division rules, sections
943.20 to 943.26 of the Revised Code, and rules adopted
under section 943.24 of the Revised Code.

(E) [Added by 129th General Assembly File No. 89, HB
389, § 1] Except as provided by law, no person shall
possess game birds, game quadrupeds, or fur-bearing
animals in closed season, provided that municipal or gov-
ernmental zoological parks are not required to obtain the
licenses provided for in this section.

[As amended by 129th General Assembly File No. 113,
SB 310, § 1] Alicense shall not be issued under this sec-
tion to raise of sell a dangerous wild animal or restricted
snake as defined in section 935.01 of the Revised Code.

(F) Except for a captive white-tailed deer propagation
license, all licenses issued under this section shall expire
on the fifteenth day of March of each year.

(G) The chief shall pay all moneys received as fees for
the issuance of licenses under this section into the state
treasury to the credit of the fund created by section
1533.15 of the Revised Code for the use of the division in
the purchase, preservation, and protection of wild animals
and for the necessary clerical help and forms required by
sections 1533.71 to 1533.79 of the Revised Code.

(H) This section does not authorize the taking or the re-
lease for taking of the following:

(1) Game birds, without first obtaining a commercial bird
shooting preserve license issued under section 1533.72
of the Revised Code;

(2) Game or nonnative wildlife, without first obtaining a
wild animal hunting preserve license issued under section
1533.721 of the Revised Code.

1533.721 Wild animal hunting preserve license -
conditions.

(A) Except as otherwise provided by division rule, no
person shall offer for hunting or hunt any nonnative
wildlife except in a licensed wild animal hunting preserve.
No person shall operate a wild animal hunting preserve
without first obtaining a wild animal hunting preserve
license issued by the chief of the division of wildlife under
this section.

(B) Application for a wild animal hunting preserve license
shall be made on a form prescribed by the chief and shall
be accompanied by a license application fee of one thou-
sand dollars. The application shall contain a list of which
species of game and nonnative wildlife are to be released
for hunting in the preserve and any other information
required by the chief.

(C) The chief, upon payment of the application fee, shall
issue to the applicant a wild animal hunting preserve
license if all of the following conditions are met:

(1) The operation of the wild animal hunting preserve
does not conflict with a prior reasonable public interest.

(2) The proposed wild animal hunting preserve meets
the requirements established in division (A) of section
1533.731 of the Revised Code.

(3) The applicant is the owner or lessee of the land de-
scribed in the application and maintains that status as the
owner or lessee of the land until the license expires.

(4) The proposed wild animal hunting preserve has been
inspected by a representative of the division of wildlife
to ensure that all wild deer have been removed from the
proposed wild animal hunting preserve before any game
or nonnative wildlife are released into the preserve.

(D) Prior to an inspection of a proposed wild animal
hunting preserve for purposes of division (C)(4) of this
section, an applicant for a wild animal hunting preserve
license shall remove all wild deer from the proposed
preserve using a method that is approved by the chief. All
wild deer that cannot be removed from the proposed wild
animal hunting preserve shall be killed, and the applicant
shall submit a restitution fee in accordance with section
1531.201 of the Revised Code.

(E) Inspection of a proposed wild animal hunting preserve
shall be conducted and approval or disapproval of an
initial license for such a preserve shall be made between
the first day of January through the last day of March of
the year in which the applicant first intends to operate the
preserve.

Publication 5454 (R1112) CAPTIVE WHITE-TAILED DEER PROPAGATION - Page 3 of 6



(F) Upon receipt of the initial license for a wild animal
hunting preserve, receipt of a license under section
943.03 or 943.031 of the Revised Code, and a demon-
stration to the chief or the chief’s designee that each
captive white-tailed deer held by the licensee was legally
acquired, the licensee may place all of the licensee’s deer
in the wild animal hunting preserve. A wild animal hunt-
ing preserve licensee holding captive white-tailed deer

in the preserve shall comply with this chapter and Chap-
ter 1531. of the Revised Code, division rules, sections
943.20 to 943.26 of the Revised Code, and rules adopted
under section 943.24 of the Revised Code.

(G)(1) Except as otherwise provided in division (G)(2)

of this section, all licenses issued under this section

shall expire on the thirtieth day of April of each year. Any
license holder wishing to own or operate a wild animal
hunting preserve in the year following the expiration of
the license shall submit a license renewal form prescribed
by the chief and include an annual renewal fee of two
hundred dollars.

(2) Alicense issued under this section for a wild animal
hunting preserve in which only captive white-tailed deer
are kept does not expire unless the license is revoked by
the chief under division (H)(2) of this section.

(H)(1) Except as otherwise provided in division (H)(2) of
this section, and in accordance with Chapter 119. of the
Revised Code, the chief may suspend or revoke a wild
animal hunting preserve license if the chief finds that the
license holder has violated or is violating this chapter or
Chapter 1531. of the Revised Code or any division rule.

(2) The chief, with the approval of the director of agri-
culture, may suspend or revoke a wild animal hunting
preserve license issued to a person who also has been
issued a valid license for that preserve under section
943.03 or 943.031 of the Revised Code if the person
fails to comply with this chapter and Chapter 1531. of the
Revised Code, division rules, sections 943.20 to 943.26
of the Revised Code, and rules adopted under section
943.24 of the Revised Code.

(I) This section does not authorize the hunting of game
birds in a licensed wild animal hunting preserve unless
the licensee also possesses a valid commercial bird
shooting preserve license issued under section 1533.72
of the Revised Code for the same land for which the wild
animal hunting preserve license was issued.

1533.74. Tag or seal required for animals sold for
food

No game birds, game quadrupeds, or fur-bearing animals
held under the authority of a license issued under section
1533.71, 1533.72, or 1533.721 of the Revised Code shall
be sold for food unless the carcass of each game bird,
game quadruped, or fur-bearing animal is tagged with a
suitable tag or seal approved by the division of wildlife.
Game birds, game quadrupeds, and fur-bearing animals
so killed and tagged may be possessed, bought, or sold
at any time. Common carriers shall receive and transport

game birds, game quadrupeds, and fur-bearing animals
so tagged, but to every package containing them shall be
affixed a tag or label upon which shall be plainly printed
or written the name of the person to whom the license
was issued, the name of the person to whom they are to
be transported, the number of game birds, game quad-
rupeds, or fur-bearing animals contained in the package,
and a statement to the effect that they were killed and
tagged in accordance with sections 1533.71 to 1533.79 of
the Revised Code.

The chief of the division of wildlife may adopt rules under
section 1531.10 of the Revised Code necessary to ad-
minister this section.

This section and rules adopted pursuant to it do not apply
to meat that has been inspected by the department of
agriculture under Chapter 918. of the Revised Code and
rules adopted under it and that has been marked with an
official inspection mark, stamp, or brand pursuant to that
inspection.

1533.77. Records of holder of propagating li-
cense - inspection of records

(A) Each holder of a noncommercial or commercial
propagating license issued under section 1533.71 of the
Revised Code shall keep the license prominently dis-
played at the place of business specified in the license,
and shall keep accurate written records that shall include
the total number of game birds, game quadrupeds, or
fur-bearing animals possessed on the date of application
for the license, the number subsequently propagated or
acquired by purchase or gift, the number that escaped,
the number that were released, the number that died, and
the name and address of each person or corporation from
whom or to whom game birds, game quadrupeds or fur-
bearing animals were received as a gift or given as a gift
or purchased or sold alive or sold for food, and the date
of each transaction. These records shall be kept perma-
nently on the premises stated in the license, and shall be
open for inspection by any authorized representative of
the division of wildlife at all reasonable times.

(B) Each holder of a captive white-tailed deer propaga-
tion license issued under section 1533.71 of the Revised
Code shall maintain all records that are required in rules
adopted under section 943.24 of the Revised Code. The
records shall be kept permanently on the premises stated
in the license and shall be open for inspection by any
authorized representative of the department of agriculture
at all reasonable times and of the division of wildlife at all
reasonable times in conjunction with an active criminal
investigation.

(C) The holder of a captive white-tailed deer propagation
license shall not knowingly falsify any record or tag that
is required in rules adopted under section 943.24 of the
Revised Code or in rules adopted under section 1531.10
of the Revised Code.
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1533.79. Control or eradication of parasites and
diseases; authority of the director of agriculture

(A) The chief of the division of wildlife may adopt, amend,
and rescind such rules as the chief considers necessary
to control or eradicate parasites and diseases of game
birds, game quadrupeds other than captive white-tailed
deer, fur-bearing animals, or nonnative wildlife on the
lands subject to sections 1533.71 to 1533.79 of the Re-
vised Code.

(B) This chapter and Chapter 1531. of the Revised Code
and division rules do not supersede the authority of the
director of agriculture under Chapter 941. of the Revised
Code to prevent the spread of dangerously contagious
or infectious diseases and to provide for the control and
eradication of such diseases.

1501:31-9-07. Wild animal hunting preserves

(A) It shall be unlawful to take any wild animal from a
wild animal hunting preserve by any method other than
hunting with a gun, with a gun and a dog, with a bow and
arrow, or with a bow and arrow and dog. Provided further,
no gun larger than a ten gauge shall be used in taking
any wild animal.

(B) It shall be unlawful to place any type of wild animal in
a wild animal hunting preserve which would not contain
the animal and allow the animal to escape into the wild.

(C) It shall be unlawful to release any wild animal from a
cage or holding pen and immediately shoot or attempt to
take said wild animal.

(D) It shall be unlawful to release any wild animal on a
wild animal hunting preserve which is untagged or im-
properly tagged.

(E) It shall be unlawful to transport or possess a wild
animal taken from a wild animal hunting preserve without
a tag as described in division (C) of section 1533.731 of
the Revised Code.

(F) All holders of a wild animal hunting preserve license
shall keep a record of the animals which are purchased
or raised. Records shall also be maintained of persons
taking any wild animal from the preserve. All information
shall be recorded on forms supplied by the division of
wildlife. Records shall be maintained for a period of two
years and shall be open for inspection by division of wild-
life employees during regular business hours.

(G) All definition set forth in rule 1501:31-1-02 of the Ad-
ministrative Code shall apply to this rule.

1501:31-19-04 Cervidae regulations.

(A) It shall be unlawful for holders of a captive white-tailed
deer propagation license in possession of white-tailed
deer (Odocoileus virginianus) or their hybrids to:

(1) Maintain or keep white-tailed deer or their hybrids in
an enclosure that does not meet the following stan-
dards:

(a) The enclosure must prevent the ingress of
white-tailed deer or egress of any captive white-
tailed deer or their hybrids.

(b) Enclosures must be a minimum of eight feet
in height with a minimum deviation not to exceed
four per cent.

(c) Enclosures must be constructed of materials
approved by the division of wildlife in consultation
with the U.S. department of agriculture animal
and plant health inspection service, the Ohio
department of agriculture and representatives of
the Ohio cervid industry. The current minimum
enclosure standards are:

(1) Woven wire mesh fencing
(2) Take white-tailed deer from the wild in to captivity.

(B) It shall be unlawful to release or fail to prevent
escape of any member of the family cervidae or their
hybrids outside of a pen, fence or other enclosure.

(C) It shall be unlawful to dispose of, in a manner not
approved by the Ohio department of agriculture under
941.14 of the Ohio Revised Code or at an Ohio environ-
mental protection agency approved facility, any carcasses
or parts of captive cervidae which are killed or die.

(D) Escaped captive white-tailed deer

(1) It shall be unlawful for the holder of a captive white-
tailed deer propagation license to fail to notify the chief
of the division of wildlife or his agent of the escaped of
any captive white-tailed deer within twenty-four hours of
becoming aware of the escape.

(2) It shall be unlawful for the holder of a captive white-
tailed deer propagation license to fail to immediately,
upon becoming aware on an escape of any captive
white-tailed deer, make repairs to the enclosure to pre-
vent additional escapes of any captive white-tailed deer.

(E) Permanent establishments accredited by the Ameri-
can zoo and aquarium association,or scientific or re-
search institutions with approval from the chief of the divi-
sion of wildlife are exempt from this rule, however it shall
be unlawful for such establishments or institutions to:

(1) Fail to report by March fifteenth of each year the
sex, quantity and disposition of all white-tailed deer or
their hybrids in possession during the previous twelve
months. Such report shall be on a division of wildlife
approved form.

(2) To release any member of the family cervidae or
their hybrids outside of a pen, fence or other enclosure.
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(3) Fail to notify by telephone the chief of the division of Persons desiring to propagate captive white-tailed deer

wildlife or his agent of any escaped or missing white- are encouraged to review all applicable laws at http://
tailed deer or their hybrids within twenty-four hours of codes.ohio.gov/ . Ohio wildlife law can be found in
knowledge of their absence. Chapters 1531 and 1533 of the Ohio Revised Code and

Chapter 1501:31 of the Ohio Administrative Code. The
Ohio Department of Agriculture also has rules concerning
the propagation of captive white-tailed deer. Their laws
can be found in Chapters 901, 918, and 943 of the Ohio
Revised Code and Chapter 901:1 of the Ohio Administra-
tive Code.

Additional information about the Ohio Division of Wildlife
can be found at wildohio.com

The licenses for captive white-tailed deer required by the Ohio Department of Agriculture can
be obtained by calling (614) 728-6220.
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