The Blue Rock Fire Tower was constructed in 1937. It is the last remaining 100-foot fire tower in the state of Ohio, and the public may climb it. It is an Aermotor tower with a 7-foot by 7-foot metal cab. The Aermotor company has built windmills since 1888. However, starting in 1926, Aermotor diversified to include the design and production of most of the nation's forest observation towers.
Beginning in the 1920s and 1930s, fire wardens and foresters used wildfire lookout towers to spot blazes on Ohio lands. Ohio's fire towers were staffed by lookouts and equipped with binoculars, maps, a radio, telephone, and an alidade – a device used to pinpoint a wildfire location.
Aerial surveillance of wildfires by aircraft began in the 1940s, and Ohio's fire towers were slowly phased out. The last tower was closed in 1978. While monitoring from fire towers is a thing of the past, they remain a proud symbol of forest conservation and a monument to the people who worked to preserve our natural resources.
When weather conditions allow, visitors can climb the stairs of the tower at their own risk. From the top of the tower, the Blue Rock Fire Tower provides a magnificent 360-degree view of the surrounding forests and hills.