A recreational boat operator is required by law to submit a Recreational Boating Accident Report when involved in an accident that results in:
Loss of life or disappearance from a vessel; OR
An injury that requires treatment beyond first aid; OR
Combined damage in excess of $500; OR
Complete loss of vessel. Reports must be submitted within 5 days except for loss of life, when a report is due within 24 hours.
To report an accident, call: #ODNR from a cellphone 1-877-4BOATER (1-877-426-2837; within Ohio only), or (614) 265-6480
The operator of a vessel involved in a collision or accident, to the extent possible without risking serious danger to their own vessel, crew, and passengers, shall render assistance as may be practicable and necessary. Any person who renders assistance at the scene of an accident involving a vessel is not liable in a civil action for damages or injury from any act or omission in rendering assistance, except for willful or wanton misconduct.
The operator having knowledge of the accident or collision shall immediately stop and remain at the scene, to the extent that it is safe and practical, and give the operator's name and address and the boat owner's name and address and registration number to any person injured or to the operator, owner, or attendant of any vessel damaged or to a law enforcement officer.
If the accident results in loss of life, injury requiring medical treatment beyond first aid, or damage to property in excess of $500, the operator shall file a full report on a prescribed form.
If the operator is incapacitated, an officer shall file the form. Reports must be submitted within 5 days except for loss of life, when a report is due within 24 hours.
To report an accident, call: #ODNR from a cellphone 1-877-4BOATER (1-877-426-2837; within Ohio only), or (614) 265-6480.